Denkwerkstatt für Manager

Geschwill & Nieswandt

LCI®

Lateral Culture Index - LCI®

In many organizations, target expectations are still agreed top-down between managers at different hierarchical levels at the beginning of the year. In many companies, key performance indices (KPI) are used for this annual performance measurement. Areas such as logistics, production or service are transparent and can be included for this purpose. Areas such as learning and development, IT, communications or even innovation, on the other hand, are less transparent and therefore cannot be clearly integrated into target expectations. And because cultural factors are also important for corporate management, organizations urgently need to adapt here.

Cultural indicators (KCI, Key Cultural Indices), which show the level of employee motivation, the level of employee loyalty to the company, or how leadership is experienced in the company, are just as important as business indicators that measure output.

That's why we have developed a measurement method that takes cultural indicators into account - and have already used it successfully in many companies.

When measuring organizational culture, the complexity of the lived culture in organizations is challenging. That is why we evaluated more than 100 culture concepts for the creation of the LCI® in order to subsequently develop important parameters for the standardized measurement of KCIs.

The benchmarks of the LCI are unique. They are based on 180º feedback from Google founder Lazlo Bock and extensive in-house research. In the further development of the LCI, seven decisive factors were crystallized:

  • Leading at eye level
  • Idea culture and openness
  • Scope for action and freedom of decision
  • Personal responsibility and independence
  • Flexibility and variety
  • Complaint culture
  • Transparency of the goals

The highlight is: The culture indices can be individually adapted to the company and its requirements. We can't say it often enough: Every company is unique! In this way, we close an important gap for companies when it comes to measuring their corporate and leadership culture. In addition, the LCI® offers the opportunity to measure changes over time and thus to review the effectiveness of the measures implemented.

Our approach: Check - Do - Plan-Evaluate

What can be realistically estimated at the beginning of a project are the investments in consulting in the cultural analysis, the conception and the implementation phase. Further, the internal resources in manpower can be calculated. This is the initial investment. However, the introduction of management tools with real figures can be evaluated on the credit side after only one year. It is often a preview, which is then incorporated into the project plans. What is clear is that successes will be quantified in the project. All measures of implementation will be designed in such a way that the results of the cultural initiatives can be evaluated in terms of economic results.

That is the claim. Thus, in addition to the qualitative goal of improving the leadership culture in a value-oriented, qualitative and long-term manner, the project also commits to an investment calculation. This investment calculation is evaluated for each measure from the time when the implementation measures begin.

Lateral management

Individual concepts for corporate culture change. No matter how brilliantly a corporate strategy is formulated, if the corporate culture opposes it, it is not successful
... more

Corona pulse measurement

Corona as Culture Boost. How do we bring people back together after the pandemic?

... more

PEAK-A

Measuring peak performance with the PEAK-A battery of tests

... more

Seminars and workshops

With individual and scientifically based formats for excellent personnel development.

... more

Executive coaching

Individual coaching is considered the efficient learning method in many organizations today. "Performance Coaching" focuses on performance improvement.

... more
"Manage Managers, Develop Leaders."
Warren Bennis

Denkwerkstatt für Manager

Geschwill & Nieswandt

LCI®

Lateral Culture Index - LCI®

Noch immer werden in vielen Organisationen am Jahresanfang die Zielerwartungen zwischen Führungskräften unterschiedlicher Hierarchiestufen Top-down vereinbart. In vielen Unternehmen werden Key Performance Indices (KPI) zu dieser jährlichen Leistungsmessung herangezogen. Bereiche wie die Logistik, die Produktion oder der Service sind transparent und können dafür eingebunden werden. Bereiche wie Learning und Development, IT, Kommunikation oder auch Innovation hingegen sind weniger transparent und daher nicht klar in Zielerwartungen zu integrieren. Und weil zudem kulturelle Faktoren für die Unternehmenssteuerung wichtig sind, brauchen Organisationen hier dringend eine Anpassung.

Kulturelle Kennzahlen (KCI, Key Cultural Indices), die anzeigen, wie es um die Mitarbeitermotivation bestellt ist, wie hoch die Mitarbeiterbindung an das Unternehmen ist oder wie die Führung im Unternehmen erlebt wird, sind ebenso wichtig wie betriebswirtschaftliche Kennzahlen, die den Output messen.

Deshalb haben wir ein Messverfahren entwickelt, das die kulturellen Kennzahlen berücksichtigt – und es bereits in vielen Unternehmen erfolgreich eingesetzt.

Herausfordernd beim Messen der Unternehmenskultur ist die Komplexität des Kulturbegriffs für Organisationen. Deshalb haben wir für die Erstellung des LCI® mehr als 100 Kulturkonzepte ausgewertet, um anschließend wichtige Parameter für die standardisierte Messung der KCIs zu entwickeln.

Die Benchmarks des LCI sind einzigartig. Als Basis dient das 180º-Feedback von Google-Gründer Lazlo Bock und eine weitreichende Eigenforschung. In der weiteren Entwicklung des LCI wurden sieben massgebliche Faktoren herauskristallisiert:

  • Führen auf Augenhöhe
  • Ideenkultur und Offenheit
  • Handlungsspielraum und Entscheidungsfreiheit
  • Eigenverantwortung und Selbstständigkeit
  • Flexibilität und Abwechslungsreichtum
  • Beschwerdekultur
  • Transparenz der Ziele

Der Clou ist: Die Kulturindices könnnen individuell an das Unternehmen und seine Anforderungen angepasst werden. Wir können es nicht oft genug sagen: Jedes Unternehmen ist ein Unikat! Damit schließen wir für Unternehmen eine wichtige Lücke bei der Messung ihrer Unternehmens- und Führungskultur. Darüber hinaus bietet der LCI® die Möglichkeit, über den Zeitverlauf Veränderungen zu messen und damit die Wirksamkeit der durchgeführten Maßnahmen zu überprüfen.

Unsere Vorgehensweise: Check - Do - Plan-Evaluate

Was zu Beginn eines Projektes realistisch abzuschätzen ist, sind die Investitionen in Beratung in der Kulturanalyse, der Konzeption und der Umsetzungsphase. Weiter können die internen Ressourcen an Manpower gerechnet werden. Das ist zunächst die Investition. Die Einführung der Managementinstrumente mit Echtzahlen kann allerdings bereits nach einem Jahr auf der Habenseite bewertet werden. Es handelt sich oft um eine Vorschau, die dann in die Projektpläne eingeht. Klar ist, im Projekt werden Erfolge quantifiziert werden. Alle Maßnahmen der Umsetzung werden so angelegt sein, dass die Ergebnisse der kultu- rellen Initiativen hinsichtlich ökonomischer Resultate evaluiert werden können.

Das ist der Anspruch. Damit verpflichtet sich das Projekt neben dem qualitativen Ziel, die Führungskultur werteorientiert, qualitativ und langfristig zu verbessern, auch auf eine Investitionsrechnung. Diese Investitionsrechnung wird für jede Maßnahme ab dem Zeitpunkt evaluiert, wenn die Umsetzungsmaßnahmen beginnen.

Laterales Management

Individuelle Konzepte für die Kulturveränderung in Unternehmen. Ganz gleich, wie brillant eine Unternehmensstrategie auch formuliert ist, wenn die Unternehmenskultur ihr entgegensteht, ist sie nicht erfolgreich
... mehr

Corona Impulsmessung

Corona als Culture Boost. Wie bringen wir die Menschen nach der Pandemie wieder zusammen?

... mehr

PEAK-A

Spitzenleistung messen mit der Testbatterie PEAK-A

... mehr

Seminare und Workshops

Mit individuellen und wissenschaftlich fundierten Formaten zur exzellenten Personalentwicklung.

... mehr

Führungskräfte Coaching

Einzelcoaching gilt heute in vielen Organisationen als die effiziente Lernmethode. „Performance Coaching“ legt dabei den Fokus auf Leistungsverbesserung.

... mehr
„Die mächtigste Kraft der Welt ist eine Idee, deren Zeit gekommen ist.“
Victor Hugo